Review: Clockwork Princess

9781442485419
Publisher:
Walker Books

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series: The Infernal Devices; Book Three

Genre: Young Adult/YA, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Historical, Steampunk

Read: 27th June 2015


Summary

As Tessa Gray prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain needs one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.


Review

It would be a shame for me to go into too much detail about what happens in this book. My copy has only the summary as seen above and I think it allowed me to enjoy the book more. There were many moments that had me in shock, laughing, hoping, and fearing for the characters. I would advise that you read this book before you read the last book in the Mortal Instruments series, City of Heavenly Fire. I read CoHF first and it spoilt the ending of this for me. Not that I minded all that much because I was going to be reading it anyways, but if you don’t like spoilers, make sure to read it in publishing order!
This book is very well done and we see the beginnings of the Shadowhunter world that Clary steps into while still having that Victorian London backdrop. Tours of London and a trip to Wales with some plot twist and romance, this is a beautiful written conclusion to the Infernal Devices series.
Tessa is brilliant and Jem is courageous while Will is… Well, Will is Will in all his Herondale glory.


Recommend

If you liked the Mortal Instruments series and the other two books from the Infernal Devices, you will thoroughly enjoy this book. As much as I hate to walk away from the Shadowhunter world, it’s ok because the Dark Artifices will be out (hopefully!) next year and we can dive back in again. Not to forget the Shadowhunters TV series will be out next year too! There’s so much stuff,  Shadowerhunters will be coming out of my ears soon (but I love it so who cares?).


Rating

I have given this book a 5/5🌟

You can find and buy it here

Leave a Reply

