Home Town Pride: Books Set in Ireland

Now, I know that there are a fair few books set in Ireland. But a lot of them aren’t young adult/new adult books. Most are kids books (see Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer) or adult books (such as Maeve Binchy, Cecelia Ahern, Roddy Doyle – to which I recommend the Barrytown Trilogy – or Ross O’Carroll Kelly). But then, the rest of them seem to be written by American authors? Now, I’m not putting down American authors for writing about Ireland, sure didn’t Heinrich Boell write about Ireland and he was German! But they seem to romanticise Ireland or make it out that we’re all farmers (sorry, no) and I don’t know. There’s not a real sense of Irishness about the books that they write when they try to write Ireland. Maybe it’s that it’s hard to get Irish humour a lot of the time because we are very sarcastic and dark people. Why? I have no idea but I’m usually joking when I say I’ll fight ye.

But I’ve found a few books that are YA and are set in Ireland by Irish authors – aka, they get the Irishness of Ireland – if anybody out there would like to know how the young of Ireland are (good God I’m only 20 why do I sound like my Nan?) and they are:

10381803

Title: And By The Way
Author: Denise Deegan
Publisher: Hachette Books Ireland
Series: Butterfly, Book One

Summary
At Strandbrook College, we are Kids Of. Kids of diplomats, media stars, musicians, artists, actors, oh, and wealthy people who aspire to all of that. I’m the kid of a rock star. Means nothing to me.
When Mum died, six months ago, I didn’t just lose her, I lost my dad – to work. The only thing he does now is annoy me. He hires people like ‘The Stylist’ who wears bullets in her belt and makes him look like a hobo. Seriously.
But ‘The Rockstar’ isn’t the only person who drives me mad. There’s David McFadden, a guy in my class who could have helped but didn’t. Now, it’s too late. I don’t want his help. Because I’m not going to trust anyone, love anyone, rely on anyone. That way I’ll never be hurt again.
If only I could solve the problem of Rachel, my best friend, who won’t let me pull back just like that. Even David McFadden won’t stay out of my face. But I’m not going to fall for his blue eyes, his windswept hair or the plaited leather on his wrist.
And when he says he wants to help, I’m sure as hell not going to listen….

You can find it here and buy it here

19300607

Title: And For Your Information…
Author: Denis Deegan
Publisher: Hachette Books Ireland
Series: Butterfly, Book 2

Summary
My friends, Alex and Rachel are minted. My money runs out. All the time.
After Alex’s mum died, Rachel knew how to help. It made them closer. They don’t mean to leave me out. And I try not to mind.
I have a sort-of boyfriend. We don’t talk about the stuff that matters. But it’s better than nothing, right?
I’m not even going to talk about my family.
Shoplifting wasn’t exactly on my list of things to do before I die but it makes me feel amazing. In control. Until I’m caught. And my life, weirdly, begins.

You can find it here and buy it here

15743701

Title: And Actually…
Author: Denise Deegan
Publisher: Hachette Books Ireland
Series: Butterfly, Book Three

Summary
When I moved to Strandbrook College, I met Alex and Sarah. They treated me like I was normal. A human being. They actually liked me – though it took a while for me to trust that. I’ve never told them about my life before I met them. That shame can stay in the past. Weird thing is, they think I’m the strong one. The one with all the answers. The guru. When I’m offered a part on a TV show, they think it’s all my dreams come true. And it is. Except that it’ll bring me face-to-face with someone from my past – and memories I’ve kept buried. But I’ve changed. And I’m sure Rebecca has too. Whatever happens, there’s no way I’m going to let my past destroy my future.

You can find it here and buy it here

22554125

Title: Shiver the Whole Night Through
Author: Darragh McManus
Publisher: Hot Key Books

Summary
A small Irish town
An uncontrollable Passion
A message from the dead
After months of bullying and heartbreak, Aidan Flood has learned to keep to himself. But when local beauty Sláine McAuley turns up dead, apparently having deliberately crawled into the woods to freeze, he finds himself inexplicably drawn into investigating what happened.
It gives him a new lease of life. But then Aidan gets a message that confirms his fears. A note, scratched in ice on his bedroom window:
I didn’t kill myself…
Now Aidan must hunt down Sláine’s murderer, as well as unravel the darker secrets surrounding his town. And he’s about to find out that in matters of life and death, salvation often comes in the unlikeliest of forms.

I haven’t read this yet but I’m excited to read it! You can find it here and buy it here

If you have any suggestions for Irish based books (I will be very harsh about them and what they’re about) please let me know! I would love to hear about them 🙂

One thought on “Home Town Pride: Books Set in Ireland

Leave a Reply

