Review: Unravel Me

9780062085535

Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher:
Harper
Series:
Shatter Me, Book Two
Genre:
Young Adult/YA, Dystopia, Romance, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Read: 27th July 2015


Summary

Our lips touch
and I know I’m going to split at the seams. He kisses me softly then strongly like he’s lost me and he’s found me and I’m slipping away and he’s never going to let me go.
Juliette has escaped from The Reestablishment. Now she’s free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal. Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible. Haunted by her past and terrified of her future. Juliette knows that she will have to make some life-changing choices. Choices that may involve choosing between her heart – and Adam’s life.


Review

Overall I did enjoy this book. I enjoyed it tremendously. But wow did Juliette annoy me for a lot of it. I really emphasised with Kenji during the book, how frustrated he was with her and how desperately he wanted her to cop the hell on (I won’t go all out on the cursing. Yet) and he’s just such a strong character, everybody loves him and I’m like I LOVE YOU TOO KENJI!! You go Kenji.
Anyways, so, for a lot of the book, we see Juliette struggling through the change of going from being institutionalised to having the freedom of Omega Point. Which isn’t freedom as in WOO GO CRAZY JAAAAAA it’s freedom as in, everybody follows these rules to protect the piece of freedom that we have from the Reestablishment, please respect that and I really think that’s great. I really do.

Oh but then when Juliette meets Anderson?! That was some scary, dramatic as fuck character change from her. But as soon as Kenji snaps her out of it, she can’t believe what she done, even if she wishes she had pushed it all the way. It’s so bizarre and out of character for her. She doesn’t want her strength, doesn’t want to be able to kill people just by touching them, doesn’t want to be able to crack the ground open at her feet. She’s a wonderful person and the best kind of person to be burdened with that sort of power. Imagine Warner with that power! Shit would get bad real fast.

A few people have told me that they ended up loving Warner by the end of the book but I can’t get over what he’s done. Maybe I’m just super harsh of him, I should possibly give him the benefit of the doubt after meeting his father, because wow was Anderson a dick, but I can’t over justify what he’s done to the extent Juliette has and even if he is hot and has an extreme love of books and tattooed Shakespeare on to himself. Not that I can deal with Shakespeare after spending three years studying Macbeth. That was just one year too many… But I can appreciate the quote after spending so long studying his words.

You may convince me yet Warner, but it’ll be a reluctant convincing!

As for Adam. No, I’m sorry, I can’t deal with you. But James is awesome.

Juliette’s character development at the end of the book has left me really excited for Ignite Me but I won’t be reading it for a while.

Learning about how the Reestablishment has divided up the world, how they’ve taken over the whole world, seeing how they deal with people who sympathise with Omega Point and rebels was really well done, because this is through Juliette’s perspective and there’s a lot she doesn’t know thanks to the three years she’s been locked away. The way Omega Point works was really interesting to see too and I hope I can find out what’s going on with them in Ignite Me.

I know I haven’t really said much about what happened in the book, but that’s because you would really hate me for ruining this book on you.


Recommend

If you liked Shatter Me, this sequel is a brilliant continuation. If you liked the Hunger Games or the Divergent series, you’ll also enjoy this book.


Rating

I have given this book a 4/5🌟

 

You can find it here and buy it here

2 thoughts on “Review: Unravel Me

Leave a Reply

