Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

22839894
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Series: ACOTAR, Book One
Read: 23rd December 2015
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, YA, Romance, Retelling, Fairy Tale


Summary

FEYRE IS A HUNTRESS.
She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin begin to bur through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

FEYRE MUST FIND A WAY TO BREAK A SPELL, OR LOSE HER HEART FOREVER.


Review

Before I read this, I was told by a friend that she found it hard to get into the book at first. Now, that didn’t put me off getting the book and wanting to read it. So I went and I got it and as usual with me since I started doing up my room back at the end of the summer, I put it on my shelf and forgot about it for a while. Oops.

But then I was sorting my books out and I spotted it and I thought to myself, I’m going to read that. So I finished the book I was reading and dived straight into the world of ACOTAR after.

Feyre doesn’t hunt for sport. She hunts to survive, to keep her family alive. So when she kills the wolf that goes to kill the deer she spotted, she thinks nothing of it – after all, it couldn’t possibly be a Faerie, they don’t cross the boarder, haven’t since the treaty between the two races was made. She skins the wolf once it’s dead and takes it pelt along with the doe home to her family. Her sisters are not so grateful that she is so dirty, even after she has brought them food and her father is as quiet as ever; torn up and dejected ever since he lost his fortune and standing, he never stops Feyre from doing what she can and must to bring them food.

So when a creature comes to their house the next night to demand Feyre in return for killing his friend, the wolf, Feyre is understandably confused until it’s explained that the treaty requires a payment for an unprovoked attack on a Faerie.

Whisked away into the Faerie land of Prythian, Feyre must come to terms with living there for the rest of her life. Her family is looked after, making her promise to her Mother fulfilled, she is safe on Tamlin’s lands but she cannot leave. Thrust into the lap of luxury that she is in no way accustom to, Feyre finds it difficult to come to terms with the new path her life is going down. Between Tamlin and his cold front, Lucien and his straight up dislike and eventual friendship, Rhysand and his oddities, Feyre is never sure just how to take this land. Everything off Tamlin’s land is trying to kill her and everyone on Tamlin’s land wants her to see something she has no clue about.

Because the magic in Prythian is fading. A sickness, Feyre is told, has taken over the land and there isn’t much they can do about it. It’s why everyone in the Spring Court is wearing a mask, and has been wearing the same mask for the last 49 years. All Feyre can gleam from Tamlin is that she’s now in danger and she must leave. But by now, several months later, she has no desire to leave the Spring Court and wishes to stay with Tamlin. Without meaning to, she’s fallen in love with Tamlin, even if she can’t get the words out to tell him (although she certainly shows him). Sent back to the human word, Feyre finds that her family’s life is a lot different to the one they had when she left.

Convinced she had gone to look after a distant aunt on her deathbed, her sisters and father are surprised to see her return – she did not get any of their letters or send them any. Her oldest sister is suspicious, unwilling to let it drop because while her father and other sister have forgotten what happened that night, she hasn’t. Nesta knows what happened and she’s determined to find out just why Feyre has returned. And Feyre, upon realising that she’s completely in love with Tamlin and doesn’t really want a life without him, even if it is just her mortal one, sets off for Prythian to rejoin him.

But when she returns, the Spring Court is empty. Amarantha, the Faerie from Hybrin, has played her hand and now Feyre must go to her in order to get Tamlin back, and save the rest of Prythian.

To be fair, I did expect Amarantha to be an ass about her deal, but I wasn’t expecting it to be quiet so extreme. I should have, really, but the ending is sweet. We see what Rhysand’s motive for his actions were and we learn more about the curse that was forced upon Prythian. Feyre’s character development is excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I can’t wait for the next one to be released and I’m glad I only have to wait until May!


Recommend

I would recommend this to readers at least fifteen and up. There are some parts that younger readers probably shouldn’t be reading (cover your innocent eyes!) but it is most definitely an amazing read. The world is built up and the characters are fleshed out. I won’t lie, I didn’t enjoy Throne of Glass all that much, but this has brought Sarah J Maas up a lot for me. If you liked Throne of Glass you will like this and I think if you liked the fairy tale retelling of Cinderella in Cinder that you’ll like this too.


Rating

I have given this book a 4/5🌟

Goodreads

I apologise for any spelling mistakes, I don’t have the book on hand to check through!

 

Leave a Reply

