Review: P.S. I Still Love You

24261890
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Scholastic
Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Book Two
Read: 27th December 2015
Genre: Young Adult, YA, Contemporary, Romance


Summary

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

They had just been pretending.
Except suddenly they weren’t. Now
Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

Then another boy from her past
returns to her life, and Lara Jean’s
feelings for him return too.

Can a girl be in love with two
boys at the same time?


Review

I was super excited to read this book, I won’t even lie. I loved To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and I loved PS I Still Love You.

Lara Jean has settled into a relationship with Peter K and things are going well. Margo returns to Scotland, school is about to start back – and then the worst thing imaginable to a teenage girl happens.

A video of Lara Jean and Peter kissing in the hot tub is posted on Instagram, for the whole world to see. Lara Jean is in shock and can’t believe it, and her guess is that Genevieve took it and had it posted. But with no proof, Lara Jean must go on. Peter is with her now, not Genevieve and they’ve made a rule not to break each other’s hearts. It shows us how bad slut shaming can be, because although all Lara Jean and Peter did in the hot tub was kiss, and the fact that Lara Jean was wearing PJs at the time, doesn’t matter to the internet – Lara Jean is shamed while Peter is rewarded, much the same as it is in real life.

Things start to really go downhill when Lara Jean finds Peter hanging out with Genevieve. With the appearance of John Ambrose McClaren in her life, both around school and at the nursing home she volunteers in, Lara Jean finds herself torn between Peter and John – until Peter shows to Lara Jean that Genevieve is a priority in his life and they break up.

With Peter still in her heart and a game of tag with whatever the winner wishes as a prize, Lara Jean is determined to win. But the win is bittersweet when she finds out what’s going on with Genevieve and when she stopped being friends with her. With interesting characters and real life situations, I enjoyed this book tremendously. A third book would be nice to wrap up a few things at the end, but I believe that Jenny Han said she wasn’t going to write another book with Lara Jean and co. Thought provoking, giggle inducing, this book was a fab read.


Recommend

If you liked To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, you won’t be disappointed with this. If you liked Morgan Matson books, books like the DUFF and probably a few other contemporaries you’ll definitely enjoy PS I Still Love You!


Rating

I have given this a 5/5🌟

Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review: P.S. I Still Love You

  1. Bea @ When Curiosity Killed the Cat says:

    I love To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before!! I read PS I Still Love You last May and I definitely adored it! It is so cute and very light to read. The ambiance of the book is very very bright and not to mention, a very adorable cover!! 😍😍😍

    Anyways, nice review!! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

